Chasing That Big Old Horse-y Dream

image taken from Gros Ventre River Ranch

I think it’s about time for me to try and chase my Big Old Horse-y Dream.  I want to move out west and work on a Dude Ranch.  I’ve applied to a few Ranches out in Wyoming and should be hearing back this week, and I’ve got my fingers crossed.  I can see it so clearly in my mind. Working on a ranch, riding and roping, butt in the saddle every day, and that’s what I want for the next six months.

As I approach the end of my Senior year, a lot of people have been asking me “What do you want to do [long term, career-wise]?”.  I know they don’t mean it in a malicious way, but this question stresses me out, because I don’t know yet, and I don’t really know how I’m supposed to know.  You know?

What I do know is that I want to work on a Ranch, and that I’ve wanted to work on a Ranch for at least the past four years.  So at least for now, I’m going to try and make this one a reality.  And if it doesn’t work out, and if I don’t get the job… at least I can say that I tried.

 

Leave a comment